The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) (also called as System Development Life Cycle) is the defines the steps or stages/phases in the building of software.

SDLC is the process of building the system or software that result in a high quality, cost-effective, within time and efficient application that is cheap to maintain, easy to enhance and that can work effectively.  It is divided in several phases and each phase comprised of multiple steps, and they are as follows:

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Phases


This is also known as Classic Life Cycle Model (or) Linear Sequential Model (or) Waterfall Model. This model has the following activities.

1. Requirements and Feasibility Study

In this phase the desired system is examined and determined that whether new system is actually achievable or feasible. In this phase, the development team visits the customer and studies their system. They investigate the need for possible software automation in the given system.

At the end, the team furnishes a document (SRS) that holds the different specific recommendations for the candidate system. It also includes the assignments, costs, project schedule, target dates.

2 & 3. Analysis & Design

In this phase thorough system requirements are gathered by IT specialists, analyzing of the requirement undertaken. Also the software’s overall structure and its nuances are defined. In terms of the client/server technology, the number of tiers needed for the package architecture, the database design, all defined in this phase. In short – a software development model is thus created.

Analysis and Design are very crucial in the whole development cycle. Any glitch in the design phase could be very expensive to solve in the later stage of the software development. Much care is taken during this phase. The logical system of the product is developed in this phase.

4. Coding/ Development

In this phase the design is executed into physical system by building the database and programs. The design must be translated into a machine-readable form. The code generation step performs this task. If the design is performed in a detailed manner, code generation can be accomplished without much complication.

5. Software Testing

Once the code is generated, the software program testing begins.  In this phase a thorough testing is done on developed system. Different testing tools and methodologies are already available to test the softwares. Some companies build their own testing tools that are tailor made for their own development operations. Basically Manual and Automation testing done in this phase.

6. Acceptance ( Deployment )

In this phase the system is deployed in to actual workforce and used. The software will definitely undergo change once it is delivered to the customer.

At Capacity, we follow the SDLC to build an application so that it is of high quality, cost-effective, easy to enhance and that can work effectively. Below is the diagram that can summarize our way of working using SDLC.

This article will clear all your doubts about Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC). Share your views with us via comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *